More and more people suffer from health problems caused by a modern lifestyle which cannot be treated by modern medicine. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine is warranted.

Man has always been advised to put his health before his wealth. But this is becoming an increasingly difficult task in the face of disease brought on by our modern lifestyle. Many people hold the view that the answers to these modern problems lie in traditional medicine. In this essay, I will explain why I completely disagree with this idea. On one hand, diseases in recent times have evolved as a result of modern lifestyle that have filled our days with sedentary activities and high calorie foods. Illnesses such as hypertension, obesity and diabetes have become more prevalent in the recent past due to the advancement of technology that has us glued to a small screen. These diseases have emerged as silent killers, with a mortality rate that rivals infectious diseases of the past. For example, over the last decade, heart disease has resulted in the death of more people than most infections put together. On the other hand, the advancement of modern medicine has also occurred at a rapid pace. Diagnostic medicine is now capable of detecting heart disease, months in advance of it affecting our body. We are fortunate to live in an era of pharmacology that has a treatment for nearly all illness, including deadly diseases like cancer. Modern surgery can replace almost every organ of the human body, while geneticists can predict maladies even before birth. In comparison, traditional remedies are still stuck in the past. While some of these methods might provide temporary relief from the symptoms of these illnesses, there is no scientific evidence of traditional alternatives affecting a cure. For instance, the use of homoeopathy in the treatment of cancer is ludicrous and borders on medical negligence. Traditional medicine is simply not equipped to deal with modern problems. In conclusion, modern problems require modern solutions. And I firmly believe that modern health care is well equipped to deal with most, if not all, modern diseases.