Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

It is true that consumers are more likely to purchase products from big huge businesses which invest an enormous amount of money in advertising and promotion. Several problems have derived from this tendency and they should be tackled by a number of effective solutions from governments and individuals. As big companies take control over the market, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that local companies such as privately owned businesses may suffer a face loss in sales, putting them at risk of bankruptcy. Since only a small number of people stick with little known brands, it is difficult for them to generate enough revenues let alone make a profit with an aim to cover the running costs such as electricity and taxes as well as remain normal operation. This can further lead to the second issue which is the manipulation of large businesses. Being on the verge of going closure, small companies will sooner be sold to more successful ones, giving rise to unemployment of the locals. Plus, this can negatively affect the national economy. Since those issues are serious, governments and individuals should take steps to deal with this issue. The first solution would be that governments need to raise more taxes on big companies since they are able to generate excessive sales to ensure their existence. The second measure would be to raise funds to support local companies to advertise their products to target customers. For example, they can organize many fairs for local businesses to commercialise their products. Finally, in order to adjust to customers' demands, small businesses need to vary their products on a regular basis so as to compete with big companies, which can gradually help them to regain their influence on consumers. In conclusion, although the dominance of large companies due to marketing and promotion prospects is resulting in many problems for smaller branches of businesses, appropriate actions can be taken to tackle this problem.