More and more people relying on private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problem overreliances on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution

Ever since the industrial revolution and rise in economic standards, a vast majority of the world's population prefers driving their own vehicles. In this essay, I shall suggest a number of problems, this trend may have on our lives as well as the environment, along with a solution. With the recent economic avalanche, accompanied by the rise in living standards, the number of cars running on the roads has drastically increased. Owning to the technical advancements and financial facilities provided by the government, people are now able to purchase their private commute. However, this development has many detrimental impacts on our life. Firstly, with many cars running on the roads, the number of accidents have significantly increased. For example, a recent study published by Oxford University illustrated that, more than 50% of world's total death are the result of car accidents. Also, with many cars running on the roads, people are more likely to stick in long traffic jams, as a result, people may struggle with reaching their destination on time. Secondly, smoke released from these vehicles is the main cause of global warming and ozone layer depletion. Due to which, more people are now suffering from life threatening diseases such as Cancer and Asthma. In addition, this development is pushing people more towards living an unhealthy, sedentary life, therefore people are more likely to suffer from mental and physical distress. However, on the other hand, by making few changes in our lifestyle, it is now possible, to eliminate these impacts. By using public transportation, the amount of traffic on the roads will significantly reduce. Thus, apart from making the road safer, this approach will drastically drop the level of air pollution. Hence, the government should make some huge investments, in order to improve the efficiency and quality of these services. In conclusion, if the above steps are taken efficiently, it is safe to say that the negative impact of this sophisticated modern technology can be ameliorated.