More and more people are relying on their private cars as a major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Private means of transportation is becoming increasingly popular. A lot of people these days prefer to transport themselves in their personal vehicles. Too much dependence on private cars can lead to laziness, as well as the inability to function properly in social situations. There are quite a number of solutions, however, government incentives and counselling of individuals are possible solutions. First and foremost, the use of public transport has dwindled over the years, as more and more people have purchased their own cars. Although, this development allows for convenience, it has robbed humans of the variety of ways to exercise, especially in this era of prolonged office hours. People no longer walk to catch a bus or the train. Furthermore, they tend to wake up late or procastinate because they drive themselves to their places of business. One way to tacke this obstacle, is the provision of state incentives for those who take public transport, in order to make it appealing to the society. For example, in Finland, the government allows fifty squats as a busfare to enable people exercise, as well as save cost. The number of people taking public transport rose by 40% after this initiative as most people found it exhilirating. Secondly, over-reliance on private cars reduces social interaction and limits the ability of people to function well in social gatherings. The occasional conversations on the subways, at the bus stops or even whilst walking affords us a little social interaction, which is difficult to get in this digital age. Furthermore, this pattern of transport tends to breed isolation. In addition, it can worsen climate change through air pollution for exhaust fumes. To deal with this problem, people should be counselled on the importance of human-human interaction. This can be done through social media platforms and the news. For instance, in 2015, the city of London began massive adverts to encourage people to take the bus instead of their cars to foster social relations. This reduced their sucide rates by almost 15%. In conclusion, the reliance on private cars as the main means of transportation is gaining grounds. Some of the dilemma that results from this are sedentary lifestyle and social isolation. The introduction of state incentives and counselling are ways to tackle this problems.