More and more people prefer to read ebooks rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

In the last few decades, the world has seen a dramatic development in technology which influences our life in all aspects. After the invention of e-books there has been steady decline in the habit of reading paper books. This essay will discuss the positive and negative aspects of the rise in reading e-books. Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of reading electronic books. The main positive of reading from an e-book is that it is easy to handle. What I mean by this is carrying an e-book is a piece of cake, it does not take up much space in your bag and it’s lite in weight, making it easily portable. Secondly, a single e-book can carry thousands of paper books at a time. In other words, the storage capacity of the technology is massive so digital copies of even a million books can be stored in a single gadget. Amazon kindle is a prime example which is extremely popular with this generation, kindle makes is easy to download books from any corner of the world as it is directly connect to the internet. Turning to the other side of the argument, the individuals who read digital book are subjected to increase stress on their eyes. For instance, prolonged staring at a monitor can cause irritation on the eyes that might cause migraine. The glare of the sun on the monitor makes it difficult for the reader, thus causing more pressure to the already burning eye. Another issue is that, people who read digital copy of a book miss out the experience of reading as a whole. Reading is already a lonely task, the only human interaction that is involved in reading is going to a library or a bookstore and checking out or buying a book respectively. If this movement of e-book continues to climb, the people of the future will lose the human touch of reading. To conclude, portability and impressive storage capacity of the eBooks are in equal to the drawbacks such as health concerns and nil human interaction associated with digital reading. In this essay we have evaluated the advantages and disadvantage of the continuous rise of e-book compared to the rapid decline in paper books.