More and more people prefer to read ebooks rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

In modern time, the majority of the people have a preference to read digital books rather than physical books. In this essay, I will shed some light on the factors contributing to this trend and its effect on libraries. There are some compelling reasons for a consumer to prefer ebooks over paper-based books. The primary benefit of people is that they save money by opting to purchase a digital book rather than a physical one. For instance, an ebook usually costs around 10% to 30% less than a paper book. Moreover, consumers can save space required to store or shelve physical books in their house because digital texts do not occupy an area outside of a device. Furthermore, people would rather carry a single electronic gadget containing ebooks than carry multiple paper-based books when they are travelling. The trend of a modern consumer’s preference for digital texts over physical texts is causing problems for the libraries. First of all, a library has to make large investments on a plethora of technological gadgets such as tablets, desktop computers, sophisticated software cataloguing system, computer network infrastructure, and so on because of the changing landscape from paper books to ebooks. In addition, some physical libraries may face closure due to the increased competition from digital libraries which have much less operating expenditures when compared to the brick-and-mortar libraries. In conclusion, people have a preference for digital books over physical books because they can save money and shelf space, and do not have to carry multiple paper books while travelling. Consequently, the libraries have to allocate capital for investment on the necessary technological gadgets and may face closure due to the rising competition from digital libraries.