The greater proportion of government's budget should be allocated to disease prevention and health education because prevention is better than cure.

Disease prevention is better than cure. Some may ask, Why? This is simply because it is cheaper to prevent a disease than to treat it. Moreover, it reduces cases of complications. Owing to the above, i am completely convinced that it is better to spend a larger proportion of the state's budget on preventive measures rather than on treatment modalities. Firstly, it is cheap to prevent an illness than to treat. The reason being, no one would be pretty sure of how the disease is going to progress. For example, some diseases may easily complicate such as bacterial meningitis. Any delay to seek treatment may result into complications which are expensive to manage. Therefore, it is cheaper to avoid new cases than to treat it Furthermore, some diseases can easily spread within a community causing outbreaks, which will then cost large some of money to control. One clear example is cholera. Cholera can easily spread within hours and it very expensive to control the outbreaks. Secondly, some diseases are difficult to cure due to several reasons such as, drug resistance thereby causing some complications such as disability or even death. In such cases it is much better to prevent the diseases rather than to witness cases of death or disablity due to preventable disease. For example, it is better to health educate people on how to prevent poliomyelitis than to have cases of disability due to poliomyelitis. Due to that, i concur it is better to spend more on preventive measures than on treatment. In conclusion, i totally agree that it is better for the country to spend more on health education and diseasea prevention inatead of spending on treatment. This is because it reduces cases of complications. Above all, it is cheap.