Families who do not send their children to public schools should not be required to pay taxes that support universal education.

It has been argued that people who sponsor their children in private schools, should be exempted from taxation meant to support public schools and universal basic education. I my opinion, I strongly disagree with this view. Families whose children do not attend public school must continue to pay tax. This is necessary to support government in catering for the less privileged and poorer families as we live in and operate a socialist economy. While this ensures fairness and equity, it also makes the society safe and secure for all. For example, if the poor was denied education because the rich did not support public school through tax because he was not subscribing to them, the sons of the poor who could not afford education could turn to hooligans and terrorise the communities. Furthermore, taxes should be paid by all citizens to support public school because it is more cost effective. In fact, it is clear that if the public schools are functioning optimally, everybody will want to attend them including the rich because it is cheaper with more qualified teachers and other manpower. Conversely private schools are unnecessarily costly, employing cheap unqualified labour and extorting the communities. Public school needs just little more support from sources, such as taxes to give its best for everyone. For instance, public schools are fully funded through taxation in Ghana, and they have high standard such that private schools do not thrive there at all. To conclude, no tax exemption or concession on those whose children are not in public school in order to ensure basic education for all, standardize our government school and make a secure society.