More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Usages of private vehicles as the main transportation media is rife and has grown abundantly among citizens. This reliance on private cars, somehow, can trigger several impacts, for instances, increasing traffic jam and elevating air pollution. These problems will be elaborated through the following paragraphs. Traffic jam is considered as the impact of an imbalanced capacity of roads towards the number of cars and other means of transportation. As vehicle and other commuter lines grow significantly, moreover, when people tend to use their personal cars which obviously increase the quantity of vehicle on road, the road cannot provide fair space to allow all cars running smoothly. As a result, people have to encounter the traffic jam. Despite traffic jam, air pollution also becomes classic problem of car growth. The higher the rate of cars operated, the higher the amount of residual fume produced by motor activities. This phenomenon can elevate the amount of CO2 in the air which contributes major pollutant in the air pollution and damage people’s health. In my point of view, one of the solutions dealing with this traffic issue is by increasing tax payment for private cars and motorcycle. Imposing high tax for private vehicle users will affect their judgment in using their cars as they have to spend extra money to run their own vehicles. Whitehorse city, for example, has managed to give higher tax for personal car users and as the fact, citizen there prefer using public buses than private cars due to less cost paid for public bus transport. All in all, reliance on private cars can improve traffic problems and pollution. Nevertheless, by implementing discretion of higher tax for personal car user, it can help coping with this problem.