More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone? The increasing number of people move from cities seeking for a higher standard of living, therefore city inhabitants face problems, such as the exorbitant price for housing and high rates of unemployment. However, the government can take action to tackle this issue. As the number of city dwellers grows in most major cities, there has been a considerable demand for housing. At present, the cost of land in a metropolitan area is exorbitant, which makes the price for housing unaffordable for most citizens. This forces them to make trade-offs and choose to live in more crowded housing or commute farther to work. In addition, high employment rates can also be a problem as demand in the job market outpaces supply. People migrating from rural areas usually lack sufficient education and skills, which leads to greater competition in the job market. As a result, working condition deteriorates and wages become considerably lower. Turning to possible solutions, government investment in establishing high-rocketed buildings will curb the high cost of property in the urban area and improve the accessibility of affordable housing for metropolitan residents. Another way is to develop a residential area in suburban zones to reduce high density in the urban centres. This will ensure a higher standard of living in terms of less strained infrastructure and availability of space for outdoor facilities. To struggle with unemployment, new jobs opportunities must be created, for example, by setting up new factories. By doing this, new working places will be generated and unemployment rates will become lower. Another solution is to reduce the working week to thirty-five hours. This will force employers to engage more staff and therefore more people will be able to find employment. In conclusion, horizontal and vertical expansion of the city, creating more jobs and reducing the working week can solve the problem of expensive housing and unemployment correspondingly.