In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Young people who finished high school and are starting university studies are encouraged by some countries to work or travel for a year. This is true especially in New Zealand where there is an option called “Working Holiday visa” that enables people from other countries to work and travel at the same time. The rapidly changing modern world made opportunities more accessible in the current generation that the youth are deemed fortunate to seize this option, yet it does not apply to all countries. Some people are taking this as a “stepping stone” toward their plan to immigrate in that particular country, or maximize their travel opportunities, or search and obtain a permanent work. This is favorable because this wasn’t a well-known opportunity in the past, especially in the case of developing countries like the Philippines where the economy in the 1970s grew and stabilized because of exporting Filipino nurses and OFWs to other countries, thus the focus was primarily on earning money to keep them and their families afloat. At present, having such a choice as travelling still has a number of factors that are worth examining. The option of a leisure time all year round can be taken and considered by students belonging to families of ample to abundant fortune since they have more resources to pursue it, whereas students from families who are financially struggling commonly choose to work – sometimes to provide support, and other times to become financially independent. Choosing to travel for a year may also have mental health benefits and may help a student ruminate on his/her career path, but it can also lead to complacency and feeling of being “stuck in the moment. ” Meanwhile, choosing to work at an early age may teach the value of hard work, a glimpse of reality of the working force, and saving what is earned; but it can also lead to burnout and feeling “lost. ” At the end of the day, choosing to work or travel or both for a year depend on one’s upbringing, beliefs, previous experiences that shaped one’s perspective on life, and financial situation. Such choice will be made based on what weighs more for the student.