More and more people are buying a wide range of household goods. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

with the proliferation of cutting-edge technologies, many people are owning a wide range of household appliances. although this trend can be beneficial to human and manufactures, I believe that in the long run, it would be detrimental to the environment. It is reasonable why this development is considered temporarily positive. First, many modern products such as television, microwave oven and rice cooker can meet human's demand on a daily basis and make their life become more effective and efficient. Microwave oven is a typical example since with the pivotal function, this may help them reheat the foods quickly. Also, these modern goods for home can enhance their living standard. Second, the more people purchase household goods, the more manufacturers produce. This development will expand the market, which is entirely beneficial to companies. However, in the long run, I think that this consumption trend can be negative. Owning numerous household appliances is one of the common forms of excess consumerism. Although their products are still in a good condition, people are likely to buy and own new appliances for their home. This development can be harmful to the environment since people will dispose large amounts of waste when replacing their owned devices. It is believed that it takes waste hundred years to decompose. Therefore, excessive consumption can lead to the degradation of environment as well as natural disasters that next generations will suffer. In conclusion, the development of shopping household products might seem to benefit at first glance. Nevertheless, in the long run, this will exert many negative consequences on the environment and human's life.