More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Since 19th century technology has taken a spike. Most of the parents now have approved their children to use the gadgets and educate themselves with the new skills. Although we have numerous merits of computer and technological skills, however the demerits cannot be neglected. To begin with, today’s parents want their children to learn the use of computers and ace their technical skills, for the reason that its uses have been useful in several ways. Children can learn and watch videos from any part of the world, it indeed has evolved the physical boundaries. For instance, the beacon house school systems have introduced simulated programs i-e ‘School of tomorrow’ to connect the children worldwide and to participate in competitions, regardless of gender, language, or cultural differences. The results were analysed and concluded that children who had previous computer knowledge and skills outperformed those who did not have one. Hence, parents are playing their part efficiently to educate their children with the technical skills to perform successfully in their run of life. On a contrary, the excess use of omputer has made children’s lives suffer in several ways and parents cannot avoid the demerit. The extra consumption of these gadgets has led them to be physically inactive and mentally lethargic, as they are not able to make use of their time elsewhere. Moreover, they are socially distant from the people around them since they spend most of their time on computers rather than eisure activities which is the utmost requirement for a child’s development. Therefore, the use of computers should be timely managed by parents as well as children. To illustrate, Yale University states in their course ‘Everyday Parenting, The ABC’s of child’s rearing’ that spending hours on the computer unnecessarily would not only make the child to sleep late but also behind in grades. Their focus on virtual activities would cost them in real-world as they will be distant from their parents and friends as well. Thus, the consumption of these gadgets and skills should be dealt with maturely by parents. In a nutshell, parents are right in allowing the use of computers and technical skills as they have numerous positive outcomes in a child’s live. However, the demerits cannot be avoided. Therefore, parents shall monitor their child’s activities and plan a timetable for all kinds of activities.