Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? What solutions can be offered?

Nowadays, child obesity has received a great deal of public attention. Although this problem can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be considered to address this. There are a number of reasons for the rising levels of childhood obesity. First, since eating habits of today’s children are more unhealthy than that of previous generations, they tend to consume too much fast food, candy, and sugary drinks. In fact, these foods are very high in fat and sugars, but low in vitamins and minerals, which can cause kids to gain weight quickly. Second, by having sedentary lifestyles, modern kids tend to watch TV, browse the internet or play computer games instead of playing outside or doing sport. As a consequence, they are becoming increasingly obese. There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, in order to ensure children have a healthy diet, parents are required to choose the daily foodstuffs carefully. For example, they should favour organic foods, like clean fruits, vegetables or meats, over processed foods, which leads to the fit body for their kids. Secondly, if parents restrict the time their children spend on sedentary activities and encourage them to take regular exercise, they would help their kids have more chance to do sports and other social activities. This means that by burning excess calories that otherwise would be stored as fat, these physical activities would help them control their weight. In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the increase in child obesity and measures should be implemented to tackle this issue.