More and more parents are allowing their children to play games on computers and tablets as they think that children will learn technology skill. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

Over the past few decades, there has been significant advancements in the field of technology. Many parents nowadays, claim that games on computer and tablets enable their youngsters to acquire technology skills. Nevertheless, this increasing trend contributes to more cons than pros, which will be discussed in this essay accordingly. On one hand, learning computer and tablet skills prepares adolescents for their future. Firstly, it is un-debatable that computers and similar devices, are essential in various fields. Therefore, pupils learn research and typing skills at an early age, which benefit them in the fields of education and work. Secondly, many parents believe that some sorts of games tackle the intelligence of the pupils, and provide them with beneficial information. Thirdly, youngsters feel entertained and relaxed when playing games. To illustrate, it was proved psychologically that computer games inculcate a happy spirit to children and allow them to feel relaxed. On the other hand, spending long hours on computers has a detrimental effect on youngsters. To begin with, students often become distracted and ignore their schools’ responsibilities. As a consequence, they might not perform well in their academic exams or even fail to succeed. Furthermore, teenagers become less socialized and lazy to do physical activities outdoors. For this reason, most of the children are witnessing an alarming decline in the overall levels of fitness and health. This was evidenced in a recent research conducted at the “University of Oxford”, ensuring that 45% of young people suffer from obesity due to the lack of exercise, and computer games were one of the pivotal reasons leading to this phenomenon. In conclusion, it is indisputable that computers and tablets result in several advantages and drawbacks. However, this phenomenon has a negative impact on the academic and social performance of young individuals, as well as leading to higher rates of obesity.