Nowadays, people are spending more time away from their homes because they spend longer in their workplace. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is true that people are staying at work for long hours and this may sometimes be even longer than the time they stay at home. This might be a disadvantage for some people, especially for those who have families waiting at home, while it might be the opposite for people who live alone. This essay will try to compare the both negative and positive sides of it. To begin with, for children whose parents spend too much time at work rather than at home, it might be disappointing. To illustrate, there are many studies supporting that children should have quality time with their parents to increase their intellectual capacity in the future. Because it is suggested that the most of people’s behavior are gained from their parents. Thus, parents would need more to stay at home and support their children’s development. On the other hand, people who live alone might enjoy being at work rather than at home. As it is a well-known evolutionary fact, people tend to have social networks to protect themselves from outside danger. In modern societies, social connections are observed as a way to avoid having mental illnesses. This is a strong reason why people shouldn’t stay at home for long hours, because it may result in unwanted consequences such as boredom which may trigger depressive thoughts. Therefore, spending longer at work may minimize the detrimental effects of being alone for too long and would be helpful to interact more with others. In conclusion, the vast majority of people are working for long hours today, which causes having less time to spend at home. I believe this is sometimes an advantage for people living alone and need to socialize more whereas a disadvantage for people who need to be with their children at their homes.