Modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

The trend of SOHO, or “small office home office” is no longer a new work concept. This innovative work method stems from easier access to personal computers and the Internet, allowing employees to work from anywhere, including their homes. While some workers benefited from its convenience and improved work efficacy, working individually also diminished social interactions and subsequent lack of collaboration. This essay will discuss the contributions and drawbacks of working from home. Working from home is a convenient option for working parents, particularly if the children are still young and needed attention. Here, parents are offered the flexibility to choose a time and venue that suit their daily schedule. Considering how schools’ typical drop-off and pick-up times often clashes with conventional office hours, working from home allows parents to allocate adequate time for work and children accordingly. Such flexible arrangement has proven to improve one’s individual work performance, simply because the employee is not constrained to a rigid schedule. However, working from home also denotes lesser time spent with fellow colleagues and friends. In other words, they have lesser social interactions compared to a traditional workplace. This method is also less favourable to fields that require frequent brainstorming and collaboration. Despite having the option to conduct meetings through the Internet, research has discovered that creativity are not stimulated as much as physical interaction. Afterall, multiple brains are better than one. To conclude, working from home has its own advantages and disadvantages. Some workers may benefit from its convenience and therefore improved individual work performance. On the contrary, being isolated from fellow colleagues also meant reduced social interactions and teamwork.