Being a celebrity such as famous film star or sports personality brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Travel and tourism industry has developed exponentially in recent decades due to the advancements in air travel and mass advertising. However, certain environmentalists argue that some tourists cause damage to the areas they visit. From my perspective, such issues can be resolved with the assistance of certain preventative measures. There are specific reasons why such tourist attractions are endangered and there can also be potentially negative outcomes in the future. The majority of tourists are unaware of the cultural or geographical significance of some destinations, thereby scribbling on paintings and damaging valuable artefacts. Further, discarded litter has threatened the aesthetic value of such ‘‘spots’’. If such actions continue, some of the unique monuments or ruins will lose their popularity due to diminished value. Consequently, tourism in some regions will not flourish as it used to. Even though people continue to cause such locations harm, the authorities and the public will be able to minimise the damage with certain solutions. Firstly, the officials and the government should raise the public awareness by introducing programs on television and radio. Secondly, legal measures can be taken to discourage people from touching or drawing on historic buildings and relics. Thirdly, fines can be imposed to ensure the cleanliness of certain sites. Finally, monitoring the behaviours of tourists with surveillance cameras in close proximity can be more beneficial to penalise some culprits for their deeds. In conclusion, the increasing number of tourists have become a threat to some locations with actions that are not environmentally friendly. Such negative impact can be minimised when both the authorities and the general public collaborate to preserve these areas.