Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to and exchange of information. Far from being beneficial, this is a danger to our societies.

In this modern era, innovations in technology has allowed people to have access to quick and unlimited information. However, some people think that apart from advantageous, it has more negative impacts on our society. In my opinion, to a certain extent I agree that modern technology has negative impacts, but, I also believe that benefits of technology outweigh its disadvantages. It is true that advanced development in technology has allowed people to have access to unlimited information and databases over the internet, but the negative impact of this access cannot be denied. All companies and governments use computer technology to store and maintain their key information these days. All banks have given online access to their customers to do online banking. If the access to this critical information is granted to any random person, the information can be misused. For example, the hacker might hack any banking account and use credit card information to steal money. In another case, the hacker might steal some secret information from the governments and sell it to terrorists. Despite all the threats, there are numerous benefits that easy access to information has given us. To start with, many scientists and researchers have been benefited with this easy access of information over the internet. For instance, there are many research papers and studies available on the internet that can be referred by scientists for their ongoing projects. Secondly, students have been largely benefited as they get a lot of study material over the internet in the form of e-books, videos etc which they can refer to while studying. For example, students can find very entertaining and interactive videos related to their course of study on youtube. com which help them learn faster. In conclusion, I agree that there are numerous benefits to human to have access to information over the internet, but to certain extent this is dangerous as well. I personally believe that the government should have a strict regulation about the access and design a proper control system which would prevent the misuse of the information.