Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to and exchange of information. Far from being beneficial, this is a danger to our societies.

With the invention and widespread use of computers, mobile devices, the internet and other latest technologies people can now access to a range of information very easily. The communication technology enables them to contact anyone and exchange the information they desire. Though many people consider it as a great uplift towards a flexible and advanced era, many people believe that it a serious threat for us. I completely disagree with the idea that the disadvantages and threat of free information exchange and communication outweigh the advancement it has bought for us. First of all, there are very few people who might misuse the easily accessible information and can try to do harms to others. But consider the rest of the mass people who form more than 99. 99% of the total population who would access information to enhance their knowledge, contact with people they care and contribute towards making the society a better place. Students, research people, teachers, professionals or even kids and mums access a various source of information for their daily needs and blocking their access from the fear of an unknown hacker or terrorist is like locking us at home 24 hours because there might be an accident on the road. In reality, the facility to exchange information and easy communication made it possible to shorten the distance of the world. The distance learning, online education, online business, email and websites like Wikipedia have made it possible for someone in a distant village to grab the potential to contribute to a greater enhancement. The sensitive data are always protected by the authority and they spend a huge amount to ensure the data protection and misuse. No matter how lucrative it sounds, hacking a bank’s website and getting information about the customers’ financial statement is as tough as walking to the middle of an ocean. Whenever we refer to the term modern world its underlying meaning refers technological advancement, information availability and flexibility of communication. Restricting the access and exchange of information for fear of danger is like living in the cave in fear of the earthquake. The technological advancement has made the world a better place to live in, has increased the transparency of government and authority and has enhanced the potential for more advancement and flexibility.