Modern lifestyles mean that many parents have little time for their children. Many children suffer because they do not get as much attention from their parents as children did in the past.

Nowadays, due to modern lifestyle parents spends less time with their children. Some people claim this has resulted in detrimental effects on children. However, in olden days parents had sufficient time to spend with loved ones. I completely agree with this statement for two reasons. Firstly, children today are developing psychological problems as parents are busy in their professional lives. In order to resume job after maternity leave children at a tender age of 6 months are left in day care centres. Slowly children start becoming attention seekers along with the feeling of loneliness at home. Furthermore, they develop an attitude of being stubborn. All this results in depression and anxiety disorders among children. For instance, research at Stanford university suggests that in the recent years there is a sharp increase in the number of children with mental illness, especially when both their fathers and mothers are working. This study was conducted over a period of 25yrs from 1985 till 2015. Secondly, children develop anti social behaviour and may even commit petty crimes due to contemporary lifestyle. In other words, they do not respect elders or follow legislative rules and regulations. In addition, busy parents do not closely monitor their children as a result this little ones get indulged in activities like stealing valuables, reckless driving or may even discharge firearms within city limits. For instance, recent studies have shown a raise in juvenile delinquency cases. In conclusion, parents play a crucial role in nurturing their children. If they do not pay proper attention than children tend to become mentally sick or may even commit small crimes.