In recent times many people are making the decision to live alone. What are the causes of this? Does it have positive or negative effects on society?

The 21st century has bought about many changes, including, the rise in the number of individuals choosing to live independently. The most significant factor contributing to this trend is todays career oriented society in which more people are willing to move further away, from their childhood homes, in order to pursue their ideal jobs. However, in my opinion, this development has far more adverse effects on the population than positive ones. Nowadays, a highly competitive job market has resulted in a number of people expanding their search for employment in areas that may be a considerable distance from their family homes. For instance, cosmopolitan areas such as large cities are highly sought after, as work opportunities are more plentiful. Often, work in major cities in fast paced and stressful, therefore, many people prefer to live alone in order to avoid distractions or the burden of responsibility that may come with shared housing. In addition to this, renting an apartment or house requires signing a contract and many individuals may not want to be legally bound to live with others, especially if they plan to relocate should a better job opportunity arise. In regards to effects on society, an increasing number of people living alone has more negative impacts than positive ones. For instance, social skills have rapidly declined in recent years due to the advent of technology, the internet and social media; more people prefer to communicate with others through computer screens rather than in person. Choosing to live alone may worsen these already concerning issue as people would be more isolated than ever before. This can heighten feelings of loneliness and lead to detrimental health problems such as depression, anxiety and a decreased ability to form strong bonds with others. To summarise, living alone may be more of a necessity than choice as people try to progress and compete in today’s society. However, it is imperative that individuals make an effort to interact with others in order to maintain social competence and prevent negative emotions that may reduce quality of life.