Modern communications have replaced the need to write letters anymore. Write examples from your own experience.

It is often argued that with fast paced developments in the field of science and technology, traditional method of communicating via letters has become a thing of the past. Although I agree that modern techniques for communicating are faster, however, writing a letter can still be a valuable mode of getting in touch with people in certain circumstances. To embark upon, recent inventions of internet enabled calling technology has made contacting people very easy and fast. That is to say, at the click of a button one can immediately connect with someone sitting at the other end of the world. Not only voice calls, but also video calling is a very handy feature which is easily accessible to almost anyone and everyone who possesses a smartphone and applications, such as Skype, Whatsapp and Messenger. Thus, it seems prudent that with such high end technology available so easily, one need not depend on the older means of communicating by using letters anymore. On the contrary, certain formal communications seem to be best done by addressing detailed letters to the recipient. In other words, it feels more systematic and methodical to approach someone by means of written communication under a formal set up. For example, the joining of a new employee in a company will be more authenticated in the presence of a joining letter, rather than a phone confirmation. Additionally, it is easy to store data when present in a written format. So, writing a letter can be a good means of communication in certain instances. In conclusion, advances in the field of communication are a boon and have boosted our ability to communicate by leaps and bounds. However, they cannot be said to have completely substituted for writing letters in all situations.