Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

Over the last few decades, some countries have reported an overall increase in the average weight of people with more percentage in children and adolescents. It was earlier thought to be a disease of developed countries such as UK, US and other European countries but now the similar trend is also seen in some of the developing countries like India, China and other Asian countries. The foremost reason of the problem lies in the food habits. Traditional and local diet were quite balanced and used to provide an appropriate amount of calories, Minerals and fibres in the diet. Now due to globalisation and influence of media have changed the way we eat. Ready to cook meals are good to taste and can be easily prepared in no time. However, they contain preservatives and lack the freshness of homemade food. Fresh leafy vegetables and fruits have virtually disappeared from our plates. Many people in today’s world are physically inactive and live a sedentary life. Earlier, a lot of emphases was given on outdoor activities and games as football, cricket, and also working in farms. There were plenty of playgrounds available for sporting activities. Nowadays, most of the children are glued to TV, the Internet for watching TV shows and playing games. As we progress in the field of technology more, we have become lazy, inactive and sedentary. This lack of physical activity and changed eating habits, both have contributed to increase in the incidence of obesity all around the world. To tackle this problem is of utmost importance and needs definite action. Parents are the key to solving this issue. Promoting good eating habits and preparing balanced diet is essential. It is also a time to stop junk food. Educating children about benefits of playing outdoor games and then restoring a balance between calorie consumption and energy expenditure is the ultimate solution.