Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

Being clinically obese was once only a condition that adults suffered from, but it is becoming more common in people under the age of 18. The essay will first discuss how fast food is the primary cause of this growing problem, followed by a discussion of how education is the most viable solution. Restaurants serving junk food, such as Mc Donalds, are becoming ever more popular. This is leading to young kids eating food with a high calorie content more often, and even becoming addicted to these high-fat meals. This results in them regularly eating over their daily allowance of calories and putting on weight. For example, the average meal of burger and fries contains more than half a child’s daily energy requirements. The best solution to this is to educate children about the dangers of being severely overweight. If there was more being done to raise awareness of the types of diseases associated with obesity, children might think twice before asking their parents to take them to the local fast food restaurants. For instance, Germany has recently banned all fatty foods from its schools and taught children the value of healthy eating and this has resulted in an 20% drop in obesity-related diabetes. In conclusion, it may be true that many young generation are struggling with their weight because of eating too many fatty meals in well-know fast food restaurants, but if education system gives children enough information about the risks they are taking by doing this, the problem can be alleviated.