Modern building change the character and appearance of towns and cities. The government should insist that new buildings be built in traditional styles to protect cultural identity.

Owing to the erection of new structures, the features of urban areas are transformed. Many demand that the government enforces strict laws saying that recent buildings be designed traditionally to preserve cultural heritage. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this notion and therefore believe cities should be modernized. On the one hand, the construction of rural houses in urban areas will obviously constantly leave the prints of our culture in the hearts of people. For instance, one will not necessarily need to travel long distances to get in touch with his or her roots. In addition, it will be easier to pass this on to our children seeing that they live with it daily. As a result, our culture which is who we are, will not be lost. On the other hand, modern houses should be left to be built in cities and towns. Reason being that if all the buildings in cities and villages are the same, what then will attract foreign investors? Moreover, revenue is generated through tourist's visits to modernized towns. For example, it is a known fact that the entrance fair into the National Museum in London is used to promote free education in public schools. As a result, the weight is less for the government. In conclusion, although erecting rural houses in towns is a sure way to safeguard our heritage, it is of Paramount importance that income acquired by the government from foreign investors is not cut short.