A lot of places on the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweighs its drawback?

Many country's main revenue generation is from tourism. Regrettably, problems can arise from mismanaged tourism. Asides the fact that not all tourists are credible, some of them end up staying back and therefore, causing an increase in population. However, tourism enriches the nation by bringing development which attracts foreign investors. Tourism can have a negative effect on a country, in the sense that some of the visitors might have criminal tendencies. For instance, some convicts may run away from their countries and disguise as tourists in another country. This will result to a high crime rate in the country. Furthermore, some tourists do not leave at the stipulated time. With this increase in population comes overcrowding and poor standard of living. For instance, a recent survey in India revealed that 50% of the children in public schools belonged to parents who came in as tourists. So the citizens will be at the receiving end. On the other hand, tourism has been a blessing to many nations. Besides the obvious fact that its a great revenue booster, it also brings about development and popularity of the country. Moreover, developed countries are known to attract investors. For instance, studies has shown that people put their money more in projects that they are certain will earn profit, that is, projects in developed countries. This will in turn enrich the nation greatly. In conclusion, in as much as tourism may have brought increase in crimes and overcrowding, I believe it has done more good than harm. As it brings about the developed and popularity of a country.