Mobile phones and the Internet have made it easier to stay in contact with other people. However, as a lot of time is spent using telephones and computers, there is less face-to-face contact and direct communication. Is the growing use of communications technology a positive or a negative development for society?

In recent days, handphones and the Internet have become the necessity of many individuals. It is said that spending time playing these devices or surfing the Internet can be some unique recreational activities. This essay is going to examine the impacts of the communications technology to the community. Undoubtedly, mobile gadgets and the Internet can bring us great convenience. It is because, with a portable and user-friendly hand phones, we can contact each other at any time regardless of the locations. Besides, the Internet also made it easier for us to be informed of the latest and most stunning news without having to read the daily newspaper. Furthermore, with the widespread usage of the Internet, it takes us only a few moments before our problems are solved online as solutions are demanded from a staggering amount of the Internet users around the globe. However, in my opinion, the disadvantages of using latest communications technology definitely outweigh the advantages. It is generally reported that someone tends to become shy and seriously unsociable due to the long-term usage of cyber communications tools. Being influenced by the newest technology, the importance of direct communication is gradually being taken for granted. However, it is evident that the basic communication skills are essential to individuals especially those who work in the society. Without these skills, one may be left behind and thus lose the ability to be independent. In a nutshell, making use of the most up-to-date technology is pleasurable. However, in order for the best result to be expected, restrictions should be set in advance to avoid over-usage or abuses of the technology.