Many people believe that education standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy.

It is widely acknowledged that standards in reading and math have declined in numerous countries for the past few decades. The purpose of this essay is to explore the possible causes and to formulate suitable approaches to tackle this critical situation. Literacy is the ability to speak, write, read and listen in a way that allows people to communicate effectively and to make sense of the world around us; while numeracy is being capable of thinking logically, reasonably and able to use mathematics to meet the demands of everyday life. It is somewhat interesting that academic standards began to diminish around the time of the technology boom, with increasingly more automatized machines and gadgets to make life "easier". Perhaps it got a little bit too easy. Instant messaging allows quick communication and is relatively easy to use; however, it also prompted the usage of chatting acronyms. On efficacious solution to this problem is encouraging students to read a variety of text from various sources-newspapers, magazines, novels, recipes etc. . . , instead of only from the internet, this will boost their spelling and reading abilities. Another factor is simply that the education system has been modified for the purpose of generating more "rounded" students; therefore, music, arts, and gym are equally essential as reading and Math. Despite the good intentions, in order to make room for other subjects, literacy and mathematics hours and standards have been reduced. An effective approach is to adapt school curricula from other countries that have higher literacy and numeracy levels into our local study programs. To conclude, literacy and numeracy skills are intertwined with our daily lives, therefore it is of the utmost importance to maintain a certain level of standards.