Millions of people every year move to English-speaking countries such as Australia, Britain or America in order to study at school, college or university. Why do so many people want to study in English? Why is English such an important international language?

In this highly competitive era, people are prioritizing to get foreign education. It is seen that English-speaking countries are the most favourable destination for students. In this essay, it will be discussed that why so many people are interested to study in English and the importance of English as an international language. As a matter of fact, English is learnt in schools since childhood and it is the most widely used languages all over the world. Firstly, in many non-English countries, English is studied since childhood and an integral part of the school syllabus. Take the example of Asian counties such as Pakistan and India, most of the students start to study English since the inception of their student life. Therefore, when students decide to go abroad to study, the already have a nice grip on the usage of English. Thus, people who pursue study higher education find it easy to study in English as they do not have to learn any other language from scratch. Secondly, English is the most common language all over the world. While doing an international business, in most cases all communication would be in English. For example, if two employees of different non-English countries would communicate, they would most probably communicate and correspond in English. It is also observed that an employer gives priority while recruiting a new employee if he / she can communicate in English. So, that’s why it is such an important international language. To sum up, students from many countries whom English is not the first language, have already studied English. It helps them in future as it is the most common language. After discussion, it is clear that many people want to study in English as it the most important international language. I hope foreign educational institutes would welcome international students who cannot pay fees by providing scholarships.