Millions of people every year move to English-speaking countries such as Australia, Britain or America, in order to study at school, college or university. Why do so many people want to study in English? Why is English such an important international language?

As world has become a global village, English is the second most popular language spoken all around the world. A large number of people move each year to some English speaking country to study at schools or for tertiary education. The reasons for such migrations and the rising popularity of English as a language are discussed in forthcoming paragraphs. To embark upon, people want to immigrate to these English countries because of number of reasons. Firstly, many persons believe that they can learn the language rapidly if they move to an English speaking country as they will get a chance to communicate with the native speakers on a daily basis which will help them to enhance their linguistic skills more effectively. Secondly, many developing countries do not have proper resources for the students to develop proper language learning skills while staying at their home countries. To illustrate, countries such as Bangladesh and Nepal, are lacking resources and proper universities for the students to gain particular language skills. However, English has become one of the most important languages used worldwide with around 500 billion people speaking it around the globe for a number of reasons. The foremost is that all the computer programs are written in English, therefore, to operate it and make ample use of the softwares, learning the skill of English is a must. Likewise, major international scientific journals and even many famous magazines are published in English only. Moreover, all the international awards ceremonies such as Grammy awards are conducted in English. Last but not the least, the major meetings and summits, whether it is between the countries or in the United Nations, are conducted in English only making it the most loved language among nations. To conclude, mastering skills of English language is very essential not only for the present time but in the years to come. Thus, people prefer English speaking countries for studies.