Millions of dollar are spent on space research each year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standards on earth.

Monetary disbursements on space research have been highlighted as an emerging issue, capturing significant public attention in recent decades. Given its pronounced positive impacts, I believe that official authorities should also fund other public sectors equally to guarantee living standards worldwide. Space research could bestow many considerable benefits. First, due to practices of resource exploitation and emission of exhausted fumes stemming from the industrialization process, the earth have been met with irreversible environmental consequences, making it gradually inhabitable. In fact, investments into space projects and space scientists would accelerate the process of finding alternative planets for humans’ new civilization, preventing them from the brink of extinction. Second, expenditure on space research could enable scientists to develop more advanced technologies, which would monitor the patterns of asteroids and other abnormal astronautical activities. This means that space scientists could easily detect outerspace menaces, thereby taking emergency measures, preventing the earth from being crashed. On the other hand, governments should inject funds into other public sectors for citizens’ better living standards. First, if official authorities, especially those in developing and underdeveloped ones undertake initiatives to promote the agricultural sectors, the produce yields will be stable. Consequently, the food securities are ensured, pulling poor citizens out from the circle of extreme poverty. In addition, better living standards manifest through the installment of reliable public infrastructure, which could only be achieved by higher public fund injections. For example, in order to reduce illiteracy rates, more educational institutions should be built with the recruitment of qualified teachers and provision of modern teaching equipment, which would outfit students with empirical knowledge and vocational skills, improving their employment prospects, which equals better living standards. In conclusion, I disagree that government should omit space research and focus on other sectors when it comes to funding. Every sector including space reasearch should be funded on an equal basis to guarantee the final living standards for human development in the long term.