Millions of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth.

Each year, a lot of money, averaging millions of dollars is spent on learning about what is outside the earth. While some individuals believe it is justified, others think that the budget allocated should be diverted to making life and living better for the people on this planet. While I understand why some will agree with the latter, my stance is that more should be spent on the persons present here and now. There are too many untackled problems on earth, such as global warming, poverty and diseases, which affect the day to day lives of people. So, why should much be spent on finding out the unknown when it can be used to improve the condition of the populace? Global warming has led to the death of humans through natural disasters like flooding. There is an obvious increase in the poverty rate in the world. For example, in Nigeria, about 80% of the populace live on less than one dollar a day. Several communicable illnesses are menaces causing unavoidable deaths. The most recent of such is the corona virus where little is known about it. More studies have to be done to understand it and a limiting factor is funds. Hence, the need to cut down budgetary allocations towards the extraterrestrial so the common man can benefit. However, there are valid reasons why some people want money to be put into learning about space. One is that people want an alternative place to live because they think that this planet will soon be destroyed due to the the current happenings on earth such as the development of nuclear and biological weapons. Also, people who are working with these agencies such as NASA will lose their jobs if funding is reduced to the research. In conclusion, finances spent on space exploration is a lot because there there are more pressing issues in the world today which need urgent solutions. Hence, the government should consider reducing the monetary allocation to this observations so that it can benefit the average man.