Mass Tourism has a negative effect on a country and should be discouraged.

There is a widespread belief that mass tourism has a negative impact on a country such as depletion of natural resources like fresh water, pollution, physical impact and so on and hence be deterred. I am in favour of this idea. In this essay, I will support my opinion with relevant examples. We must acknowledge that the tourism is a source of foreign economy which can be invested in numerous public infrastructures like schools, hospitals and roads. In addition, hotels, restaurants and transportations can benefit a lot and also it provides excellent opportunities for jobless people to support their livelihood. Nevertheless, air and noise pollution have surged significantly due to the frequent use of transportation like buses, cars and airlines. Transportation emission like carbon dioxide is one of the powerful greenhouse gasses which is responsible for tragedies such as landslides, droughts and of course the global warming. Not only noise pollution is causing excessive annoyance, stress and even hearing loss for humans but also it has affected wild life especially in sensitive area. To illustrate, wild animals are forced to alter their natural habitats due to loud noises. Over and above that, their activities have huge physical impact on marine, soil and vegetation. Take marine activities for an instance, it is obvious that in marine areas ( around coastal water, reefs and beach), many tourists activities occur in or around fragile ecosystem. Anchoring, snorkeling, sport fishing and scuba diving, yachting, and cruising are some of the activities that can cause direct degradation of marine ecosystems such as coral reefs, and subsequent impacts on coastal protection and fisheries which are usually the sustain of people and that attract the tourists. To conclude, although tourism helps in the economic development of a country, I believe government should pass environmental legislation for all tourists industries and impose a heavy fines in order to prevent climate change and degradation of viable ecosystems.