79. Is the ability to write and read more important today than in the past? Why or why not? Use specific reasons to support your answer.

Reading and writing are basic skills that people need to gain in order to communicate with others and to achieve academic knowledge. Some people may think that people always need to know how to read and write. It is true. However, if you are asked about the concept of whether these skills are more important today than in the past, which is your opinion? In my point of view, knowing how to write and read the words now is more important than in the past. I will explore my ideas in the following essay. First of all, before people often only communicated with people in local areas that meant they could talk to them in person. However, today with the invention of technology, people do not usually contact each other in person. To save time people usually send to others emails or text the messages. Therefore, if people cannot read or write the words, they cannot communicate with others; they will be isolated in their own positions. Another reason is that today people learn by reading books and search news on the internet rather than telling stories as in the past did. Thus, if people are not able to read and write the words, they cannot gain any knowledge. Moreover, nowadays every job requires the ability of reading and writing. If people cannot write or read the words that means they are not able to have a job or they may only work as menials. For example, in the past, famers might be not know how to read and write the words, they just needed to work hard in their farms. But now, even famers need to read and write to know about the directions of many kinds of plants that are suitable for each kind of land. Likewise, they also need to know to read and write in order to apply the advances in agricultural technology in order to develop their products. In conclusion, for two reasons, which I have just mentioned above, I strongly support the idea that nowadays people have to learn how to read and write. If one cannot write and read, one cannot live in this world.