Some people believe that television is a powerful educational tool. Other people believe that television is nothing more than mindless entertainment and should be discouraged. with this statement? Provide examples and supporting evidences to back up your opinion on this subject.

Television is a versatile form of media that presents us information from all around the world. Owing to this, many people seen it as an informative tool to provide education. Whereas, other believe that it promotes irrelevant and absurd content which is not entertaining at all. In my view, television is more than a source of entertainment; it can prove to be beneficial if used in a good way. There are several reasons why people consider it senseless form of entertainment is that there are many shows that are aired on some channels, whose sole purpose is to attract large number of viewers. In order to achieve this, they go beyond certain extent and broadcast ridiculous content. This type of content is not beneficial for children in any way. For instance, many reality shows include excess drama and comedy to attract more audience in order to increase their television rating point. Secondly, other learning methods can be adopted instead of a television. For example, a newspaper provides detailed information whereas news channels only broadcast brief information. By and large, it is evident from above arguments that television is not a viable media to acquire education information. On the other hand, Television offers a range of educational channels and that too are in multiple languages, which provides in-depth detail of any subject. Moreover, numerous quiz shows are telecast to enhances general knowledge of children. Discovery channel, for instance is best way to teach students about nature and animals which help them in their biology lessons. Another benefit of television in context to education is that being a digital medium, it displays visuals and animations in an appealing way so that children can retain and understand them in long term. For instance, by including smart classes in school curriculum helps students to learn any complex topic with the help of animation and cartoons to make it easier to understand. All in all, digital devices can help to develop interest of students by making it more alluring and easy. To conclude, it is true that some channels do not serve purpose of providing rich information to its viewers. But I disagree that it is mere idiot box, as, it can have multifarious beneficial to students when used as a learning tool.