Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

Having health issues is becoming a common problem for most of the workers as they spend a little or no time exercising either during the weekdays or weekends. This essay will discuss the main factor associated with this issue and it will also recommend a viable solution to address the problem. The main cause why the majority of working people are not getting enough amount of exercise seems to stem from the fact that they are spending longer hours at work. The heavy workload has forced them to sacrifice their personal time to work, leading them to live a sedentary lifestyle, which can be detrimental to their overall well-being as they are more prone to illness. This is exemplified by the growing number of workers in China, who often suffer from a chronic cardiovascular disease due to the lack of physical activities and poor diet. One of the possible remedies to tackle this issue is by involving the employers to implement a work-life balance culture in the company. It is understandable that many companies always aim for a higher revenue to continue their business; however, by neglecting the fundamental asset, namely the workforce, it may lead them to more serious consequences. Therefore, employers need to play an active role in motivating and ensuring that their staff are living a healthy lifestyle and exercising. This can be done, for example, by allocating some of their budget to sponsor gym membership for all of the staff so that they are motivated to do exercises. In conclusion, many of the working people face certain health problems as they spend lesser or no regular exercise. While the prime factor, such as working long hours, is obvious and hard to be avoided, this issue can be resolved if the employers contribute positively in providing some health-related allowance for the employees.