Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages both situations.

There are two types of accommodation which students have to decide when they go to university. The first one is staying with families while the other one is to live in places which are away from students’ home. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of each choice. To begin with, a large proportion of students still prefer living with their families for some merits. This selection offers students an effective way to save their budget. While accommodations such as dormitories, mini-flats, small apartments keep increasing the prices continuously these days, staying at home seems to be a perfect option to cut off the expenses significantly. Moreover, people can spend more time with their families when they are at home during the academic studying period. However, students may find it inconvenient to travel every day to their institutes. In addition, staying at home could have a negative impact on the studying concentration due to the lazy lifestyle of living too long in students’ comfort zone. On the contrary, living live in accommodations away from home can bring some positive effects to students’ personal experience. Firstly, many people are afraid to live by themselves because of the habit of relying on the parents at home. Staying in completely strange places offer great opportunity to improve students’ confidence to live on their own. Secondly, travelling to studying facilities seems much easier for these places are typically close to the universities. Yet, when people select these accommodations, they should calculate the living expenses carefully because their budget could burn out fast. Also, the connection to family’s members will be minimized. Since students now spend more time on hanging out with social friend, the frequency of family meeting will definitely reduce. In conclusion, there are good and bad sides whether students choose to stay at home or away from their homes when they go to university.