Many teenagers today spend a large amount of money on consumer goods and entertainment without worrying about the cost even though they may earn a little or no money themselves Why do you think young people sometimes spend their money irresponsibly

In today' s modern world, a huge population part of millenials has the tendency to spend huge amount of money acquiring numerous and useless products regardless of the expenditure. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, the most important of which are the lack of communication within the family and the bad influence of social media. Undeniably, the institution of family has been altered throughout the years. To elaborate, modern families lead a fast pacing lifestyle in which the parents work all-day earning money to support their families. Therefore, children spend a massive amount of time isolated and in order to fill the emotional void from their absence, they buy or are the recipients of unnecessary goods. The proof is the fact that teenagers get very expensive smartphones as gifts. Thus in a small age, they learn to spend money irresponsibly. In addition to this situation, social media brainwash minors to consume more and more commodities. In the sensitive age of adolescence, juveniles wish to be accepted by those close to their age, so they follow blindly bad role models on social platforms. Unfortunately, the intention of influencers is to pursue people to buy as many goods as possible. In other words, they upload an abundance of pictures daily to advertise clothes, perfumes etc manipulating youngsters to purchase them. That is why teenagers spend money without considering the cost of these items, trying not to be parias. To conclude, I believe that the modern family crisis and the negative effect of social media have lead the youngsters to overconsumerism. Undoubtedly, this is something that the future generation should consider to change.