Many sports players advertise sport related products What are the advantages and disadvantages of this

Nowadays, advertising has become a crucial part of every business. Many well-known sports personalities advertise various sport-related products. There are a couple of benefits such as an increase in employment and children involving active lifestyle, but there are also drawbacks to be taken into consideration. To begin with, one principal advantage of famous sportspeople advertising a sports-related product is it helps in creating jobs. Many people purchase products that are endorsed by their favorite sports person, which helps to increase the sale, thereby, generating employment. For example, MRF is endorsed by famous Indian cricket personality, Virat Kholi, which has helped the company to increase its sale of cricket bats by 25% and employment by 32%. Another advantage of brands getting endorsed by well-known sportspeople is it encourages children to indulge active lifestyle. Sports star normally advertise products by playing their game or showing their skills, which encourages children to imitate or learn the same skills by playing the desired game; thereby, avoiding a sedentary lifestyle. Overall, it helps to generate enough jobs and appeal to youths to adopt an active and healthy lifestyle. On the other hand, one problem that can arise by sports players advertising sport-related products is it put undue pressure on parents. Children force their parents to buy the desired product by seeing their star endorsing the same, which forces parents to divide unplanned budget to satisfy children' s need. For instance, according to a recent poll, 47% of parents complained that they need to spend 10% of their unplanned expenses on sports-related products in order to satisfy their children' s demand. Another problem that can arise is that products get expensive due to being endorsed by a celebrity. As a huge chunk of money has to be paid to celebrity, the cost is recovered from the price of the product, making it expensive. Therefore, pressure on parents and an increase in the cost of the product are a couple of disadvantages that result from celebrity endorsing sports products. To conclude, brands getting advertised by elegant sports personalities can result in a couple of benefits, but forceful pressure on parents to buy the desired products and increase in the cost are some disadvantages that can occur.