Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are working for long hours and, as a consequence, are having very little leisure time. In my opinion, I believe that this development can bring about more disadvantages to people and societies compared to any advantages it might bring. Admittedly, working for long hours might have some minor benefits. Firstly, people who work all day get immersed in their jobs and gain a lot of knowledge and experience. As a consequence, it can increase their value at their companies since they are seen as experienced and hardworking employees. This makes them feel secure and might even increase their salaries. Secondly, working longer increases productivity in businesses which could improve the economy. For instance, the economy of a country whose citizens are workaholics is more likely to flourish than that of a country with lazy citizens who procrastinate. Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned advantages, working for long hours and having little free time is detrimental to people’s mental and physical health. Individuals who are forced to work longer face high levels of stress, which severely impact their mental health and decrease their job satisfaction. As a result, these people are highly exposed to depression, anxiety, mood disorders, insomnia, and even suicide. Another serious issue is that little free time prevents people from exercising and staying active since they do not have the energy. This exposes people to countless health problems, such as obesity, diabetes, and heart disease, because exercise plays a vital role in maintaining health. In conclusion, suffering from mental and physical health problems is damaging to people and society and, therefore, outweigh any benefits that could result from working longer.