Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In today’s rapidly changing environment, many people fail to identify and differentiate between work and personal life. While many believe that there are certain advantages of devoting more time to work, others argue that enjoying personal life has more advantages. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of choosing work over personal life. Right from childhood, children are taught to race. Therefore, when they start their professional life, they usually get into the same mode. Thought giving importance to work life have its own advantages. Such as earning status in the office. Bosses often treat devoted employees with respect and take special care of them. Moreover, long work hours count for extra productivity which may increase chances of promotions and pay hike. On the other hand, leaving a little time for personal life have many more drawbacks. First of all, extended working hours lead up to the stressful life. Stress is a lifestyle disease and it is generally known to have harmful effects on a person’s life. Death due to excessive stress that to an early age is well known headline in newspaper nowadays. Moreover, because of this development people are losing hobbies. These hobbies used to keep people away from stress and give them a note of self-satisfaction. With no hobbies, place of self-satisfaction has taken by more stress. Last and most important point is that with spending more time at workplace, people often would not able to manage family commitments. Such as celebrating festivals with parents or outing with children and spouse. Missing these most important moments would cost a fortune in terms of mental health and the future of the person’s relationship. In conclusion, although there are some benefits of spending extra hours at work, the drawbacks certainly outweigh them.