Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits.

A group of people think that hosting international sporting tournaments would bring a lot of benefits for their country, while others believe that it would cause some issues. The following essay will discuss both of these views but I personally believe that such an event has more positive things than its negatives. On the one hand, it is believed that international sporting events would bring some serious problems for the host country. One of the problems is that the government needs to build new or renovate existing sports facilities, which means that they have to have a large budget for that. Many people believe that the budget could be spent on other important things such as improving public health facilities or developing a better education system. Another issue is that when the tournament is being held, tourists from all over the world would come to the country. Some people are afraid that it might threat the national security, as some terrorists might come to the country. Besides some others point that as a threat to the local way of life and traditions a country has. On the other hand, another group of people believe that hosting a world class sports tournament such as Olympics or Asian Games would bring so many benefits and potentials to the hosting country. Firstly, as the country needs to renovate or build new sports facilities, it means that it will create new job opportunities for the local people. Secondly, as tourist and supporters from all over the world would come to the country, it will also boost the local tourism industry. Third, tourists who come to the country will spend their money on accommodation, travel, entertainment and foods, which means that it would generate more revenue for the local businesses and for the government through taxes. Again, the sporting event would inspire local people to participate this type of sporting event and thus the country will ultimately have a generation who are good at sports. Furthermore, the country would get international exposure as a lot of people around the world would watch the sporting event and would learn about this country. This has a great benefit in terms of tourism and international trade for this country. Finally, hosting this type of sporting events often enhances the diplomatic relationship among nations and that is a great way of maintaining world peace. In conclusion, it is a fact that holding an international sporting event would have its own positive and negative sides. In my personal opinion, I believe that the benefits of hosting the event are greater than the drawbacks.