Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits.

International sports events have become a unifier force in the world in general, and few countries, in particular. Hosting international events has spurred an intense debate among scholars owing to the financial resources required for organizing such events. This essay intends to discuss both views and a logical attempt would be made to reach a logical conclusion. Proponents believe that international events provide an opportunity to instill, intensify and express the feelings of patriotism as citizens will be proud to see their century in news for the entire event. Also, the name of the hosting country would get associated with the event and it will get recorded in the history of forever. Hence, not only during the event, but also for the times to come, these events provide a sense of pride to the citizens, and as a result, love for nation gets a boost. However, opponents to have their valid reasons to refute the above mentioned arguments. Firstly, they believe that basic problems like poverty, illiteracy, unemployment and others need to be addressed to ensure the growth and development of the country. Even more, they consider the life of dignity as the foundation of civic pride. Therefore, they focus on strengthening the measures if capacity building to strengthen the social and economic fabric of the country. As far as my humble opinion is concerned, ensuring fulfilment of basic needs is more important than hosting international events. Alternative methods like multi-country hosting could be considered as it would serve both purposes in a better way.