Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits.

Throughout the 21st century, a lot of significant global events have happened at different locations. Sports, which is played among nations, is one such event which is becoming extremely popular, especially among the youngsters of the developed nations. The discussion that whether or not to host an international sporting program by a nation is advantageous is a debatable one, with strong logics provided by the supporters of both the views. On the one hand, a sense of patriotism will be increased among the citizens of the hosting country due to the fact that they will be proud to see their country in the international headlines, during the entire event. In addition to that, the nation's top leaders have an opportunity to hand over the price to the winners. For example, in 2005 when Brazil hosted the soccer world cup, every day the name 'Brazil' was seen in almost all media like newspapers, televisions and the internet. Secondly, motivation will be cultivated among the youths of the host country, and will actively try to play the game locally. This can bring up the sporting potential of the citizens and later help to play for the nation. For instance, the proportion of citizens playing cricket increased by 10 percent after India hosted cricket world cup in 2000. Thus, a country can have many sportsmen in the pool and pick the best ones. On the other hand, there are security threats especially from the terrorists or by opponents from the start to the end of the program. A lot of money needs to be spent to deploy the military forces, round the clock, to ensure that the nation is completely under control. In 2005, Brazil spent 25 million dollars to ensure that the country is secure in all aspects. Moreover, this money could be used for the starving people, especially in Africa. Thus, some people gravitate towards this point of view. In conclusion, although I understand that huge money needs to be spent for safety purposes, I totally agree that hosting international sporting events are advantageous for both - the hosting country and the attending countries. There should be regular sporting events held internationally every year, to promote peace and love.