Many people today use their phones for sending text more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

It is true that there are people who opted to choose texting over talking most of the time when communicating. There are reasons for this and in my own view, I believe this trend has more disadvantages. There are two main reasons why people prefer to type a text than make a voice call. One reason is that it is convenient for them. This is because texting can be way easier to convey a clear conversation. For instance, rather than making a voice call in a place with noisy streets, it is convenient to send a text message, since the person will definitely understand the message compared to when they are talking on the phone with a noisy setting. Another point is that texting is less intrusive. When people are in a meeting or classes for example, texting can be a safe choice to contact the person so that they can prevent unnecessary destruction. Hence, people choose to convey through text. However, despite these plethora of reasons, I think that this type of communication can bring more detriments. First of all, communication via text has no associated feelings. Texting is a difficult medium for communicating with emotions. When a person sends text, the recipient may not know if the sender is angry, not unless he tells it in text. Rather than assuming that the sender is angry, the receiver should pretend that all the texts have good intentions or else these can turn into arguments. Moreover, texting is a slower way to reply in a conversation. In times of emergency or danger, people less likely to prevent further problems due to delayed responses compared to when they make voice calls. Thus, text type communication has more serious drawbacks. In conclusion, while sending a text can be convenient for some, I consider this trend to have more disadvantages to people.