Many people today use their phones for sending texts more than talking. What are the reasons for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

In a bid to bridge the gap between communication, more innovations are being made. Nowadays, owing to its affordability and convenience people now prefer to send information via text messaging than phone calls. In my opinion, I believe that the drawback supersedes the benefits with a number of reasons. To begin with, individuals now prefer to send text messages because it is less expensive and more convenient. In other words, money spent on sending messages to people is cheaper when compared with making calls. As a result, an individual would rather go for the method because one can even send lengthy messages without spending too much. For example, in Nigeria, the amount it costs to make a one minute call is 3x more than what it would take a send a text. Also, expressing one's self via text messaging is more convenient. This is because one can send a message to someone at any time, regardless of the location of the person and get a reply. Whereas, if a call is put across to a person in a busy place, he will have no choice than to suspend the call until he gets to a less noisy place. Admittedly, a major benefit of sending a text is that it is time-saving. In other words, less time is required to convey a message to the recipient unlike over phone calls. For example, according to a survey carried out by the Nigerian Telecommunications, people said they preferred to send texts than make calls because it took them less time in passing the message across. Nevertheless, despite this advantage, the major drawback to text messaging is that it could be restricting. In other words, in a situation where the mobile phone owner is not an English literate, he will not be able to express himself via typing. For example, a man who was just gifted a phone by his child found it difficult sending messages during an emergency situation. This would have been avoided if he used the call option instead. Another downside of text messaging is that it could be used to mask one's feelings. A person can easily lie about the way he feels through text messaging whereas it is very difficult to hide your feelings over phone calls. In conclusion, people benefit from sending texts because it is cheaper and more convenient. Despite this, the restricting drawback of using text message as a means of communication makes it less beneficial to making phone calls.