Some people say that the most important requirement of a modern city is an effective public transport systems. While other people believe that there are other important requirements for a city.

In recent decades, public transportation issue has been receiving a great deal of public attractive. Although many believe that it is necessary to invest in different sectors for a metropolis, I would agree with opinion that building a modern public transport system should be the top priority of a city. On the one hand, there are a variety reasons why city committee need to divide up the costs equally among essential requirements of this borough. First, urban development includes not only public transport but also many different aspects, such as economy, education or medical services. If city council just emphasize on a particular sections, financial resource of city may be not sufficient to endow other fields, which makes city not develop comprehensively. Second, citizens in some cities, especially in developing countries like Viet Nam and Philippines, tend to prefer private vehicles due to its convenience rather than using bus or subways. Therefore, it is probable that building public transport could contribute to unnecessary waste for city. On the other hand, I am of opinion that construction of a modern transport infrastructure can bring significant benefits to long-term development of a municipality. Firstly, the introduction of bus and metro would help to ease traffic flow in city centres. In fact, capitals in developing countries like Ha Noi, Manila, Bangkok etc. encounter traffic congestion frequently at peak hours due to the lack of public transportation. Secondly, an integrated transport system is the base of urban areas. Without an effective traffic net, commodities and merchandises can not be conveyed smoothly, leading to economic inefficiency. Furthermore, the popularity of public transport can reduce the use of individual vehicles and the smoke of car gas, thus protecting the environment. In conclusion, it seems evident that both opinions have their own unique advantages. However, it would be better for a city to upgrade and expand public transport provision.