Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Food is one of the basic needs for the survival of human beings. Gone are the days when people paid a lot of respect to food and tried to preserve it for as long as possible. In contrast, the new generation of population throws away a lot of eatables which are purchased from shops and restaurants. This essay will examine the causes for the wastage of food and discuss the possible solutions to reduce the amount of food thrown away. Firstly, the main cause for the increasing wastage of food is the increase in the daily wage earnings of people. The prior generations earned very less when compared to that of present generation people. As a result, people are able to buy more food and do not hesistate to throw it in the dustbins. Secondly, public does not give importance to food due to rise in throw -away culture. This is to say, nobody is bothered when other person wastes food. For instance, elder people used to give priority to each and every bite of meal they would have and stop their kids too from wasting the it but, this same practice is not being carried forward to the next generations. Hence, people are carefree to the scenario of food being thrown away. Having discussed about the possible causes, it is important to come out with the solutions for this problem. The first and the basic thing that can be done is creating public awarness. Various campaigns should be started to convey the importance of food. For example, by showing how underprivilaged suffer from malnourishments as they do not have sufficient food to eat. Through this public will start to realize the importance of meals and make sure to buy only the required quantity of food. Another way to lower down the food wastage is by establishing eco-friendly boxes in the restaurants where the excess food is packed, stored and distributed to the poor and the underprivilaged. To conclude, a rise in the earnings and throw-away culture can be regarded as the one of the few reasons for increasing wastage of food. This can lowered by conducting campaigns and the restaurants coming forward for the cause of enlightening people about the importance of food and make sure there is no wastage.