Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationship.

There have been significant developments in relation to communication in recent years, however it is often argued that this technological progress had had a detrimental effect on many people’s relationships. Although in numerous cases damage is being done to social interactions, I also strongly maintain that there are undeniable benefits that have been brought by internet-based methods of communication. Corresponding online can clearly be a hindrance in many situations. The principal drawback is that social websites such as Facebook can be very addictive, therefore people spend less time communicating face to face. It is commonplace to see group of friends or family members who are gathered together in a social situation, however their main focus is frequently their smartphones. Secondly, the anonymous nature of online communications can also be very damaging. Due to the fact that posts and group messages are often sent without the recipient knowing the sender personally, users are frequently more thoughtless, or even abusive, compared to what they can be held accountable for their words. Despite the aforementioned harmful aspects, the latest communication devices are also advantageous in a variety of respects. Firstly, prior to the introduction of the internet, there were limited opportunities to keep in contact with others. Many examples have been seen of childhood friends who lost contact as a result of moving to a new town or attending a diffrerent university. With the introduction of social networking, this situation is now easily avoidable. In addition, social media also provides opportunities to build new relationships with likeminded people. By taking advantage of social groups and mutual friend recommendations, connections can now be built anywhere across the world. Looking back 20 years, it was uncommon for friends to be made outside of a local community. To conclude, there is no doubt that communication methods have been revolutionised over the last two decades. Whether this progression benefits or harms people socially, however, depending largely on individual circumstances. To avoid the potential issues presented above, it is vital that sufficient time is also devoted to more traditional forms of socialising.